About Us

Department of Economics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Graduate Program:
301-405-3544

Undergraduate Program:
301-405-8367

Upcoming Events

Monday, November 3, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: TRADE / INSTITUTIONS / POLITICS
Noam Yuchtman, University of California Berkeley

"Curriculum and Ideology"
Download Paper 

Hosted by Ethan Kaplan

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Laura Veldkamp, New York University Stern

Hosted by Luminita Stevens

Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jing Cai, University of Michigan

Hosted by Ginger Jin

Monday, November 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: TRADE / INSTITUTIONS / POLITICS
Oleksandr Shepotylo, HSE, St. Petersburg

Hosted by Peter Murrell

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Paul Scott, Toulouse School of Economics

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Giorgio Primiceri, Northwestern University

Hosted by Boragan Aruoba

Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Ariel BenYishay, University of New South Wales

Hosted by Raymond Guiteras

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Jeremy Fox, University of Michigan

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Giuseppe Moscarini, Yale University

Hosted by John Shea

Thursday, November 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jessica Pan, National University of Singapore

Hosted by John Ham

Friday, November 21, 2014 at 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: TRADE / INSTITUTIONS / POLITICS
Geoffrey Hodgson, Editor, Journal of Institutional Economics

Hosted by Roger Betancourt

Monday, November 24, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: TRADE /I NSTITUTIONS / POLITICS
Michael Burda, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin

"Payroll Taxes, Social Insurance and Business Cycles"
Download Paper

Hosted by Roger Betancourt

Thursday, November 27, 2014 at 12:01 am - 11:59 pm

The University of Maryland will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 28, 2014 at 12:01 am - 11:59 pm

The University of Maryland will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Gabriel Chodorow-Reich, Harvard University

Hosted by Ethan Kaplan

Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Hilary Hoynes, University of California Berkeley

Hosted by Lesley Turner

Wednesday, December 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Ethan Ilzetzki, London School of Economics

Hosted by Boragan Aruoba

Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Anna Aizer, Brown University

Hosted by Soohyung Lee

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Matt Notowidigdo, Northwestern University

Hosted by John Shea

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Alp Simsek, MIT

Hosted by John Shea

Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103,Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Rohini Pande, Harvard Kennedy School

Hosted by Jessica Goldberg

Monday, April 27, 2015 at 3:50 pm - 5:30 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: Trade, Institutions and Politics joint with Macroeconomics
Stephen Redding, Princeton University

"What is 'Firm Heterogeneity" in Trade Models? The Role of Quality, Scope, Markups, and Cost"

Hpsted by Nuno Limao