About Us

Department of Economics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Graduate Program:
301-405-3544

Undergraduate Program:
301-405-8367

Upcoming Events

Friday, August 22, 2014 at 1:00 am - 11:59 pm

Summer Term Session II Ends
Monday, September 1, 2014 at 12:01 am - 11:59 pm

The University of Maryland will be closed for the Labor Day Holiday
Tuesday, September 2, 2014 at 1:00 am - 11:59 pm

Fall Semester 2014 Begins
Wednesday, September 3, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Vincenzo Quadrini, University of Southern California

Hosted by Felipe Saffie

Monday, September 8, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
1101 Morrill Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS
Andres Santos, University of California San Diego

Hosted by Guido Kuersteiner

Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
David Reiley, Google

Hosted by Peter Cramton

Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Luigi Bocola, Northwestern University

Hosted by Boragan Aruoba

Thursday, September 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS joint LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jerry Hausman, MIT

Hosted by John Chao

Monday, September 15, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT joint with TRADE, INSTITUTIONS and POLITICS
Marcel Fafchamps, Stanford University

Hosted by Jessica Goldberg

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Matteo Maggiori, New York University Stern

Hosted by Felipe Saffie

Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Sandra Black, University of Texas Austin

Hosted by Soohyung Lee

Monday, September 22, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm 1101, Morrill Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS
Konrad Menzel, New York University

Hosted by John Chao

Tuesday, September 23, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Fuhito Kojima, Stanford University

Hosted by Soohyung Lee

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Fabrizio Perri, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Hosted by Felipe Saffie

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Yeonkoo Che, Columbia University

Hosted by Soohyung Lee

Wednesday, October 1, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Nicolas Crouzet, Northwestern University, Kellogg

Hosted by Luminita Stevens

Monday, October 6, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 1101, Morrill Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS
Francesca Molinari, Cornell University

Hosted by Ingmar Prucha

Tuesday, October 7, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Jorge Balat, Johns Hopkins

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, October 8, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Marc Giannoni, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Hosted by Boragan Aruoba

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Paul Grieco, Pennsylvania State University

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Christina Arrelano, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Hosted by Felipe Saffie

Monday, October 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 1101, Morrill Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS
Bruce Hansen, University of Wisconsin Madison

Hosted by John Chao

Tuesday, October 21, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Ali Yurukoglu, Stanford University

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Christian Hellwig, University of Toulouse

Hosted by Luminita Stevens

Thursday, October 23, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jeanne LaFortune, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Hosted by Lesley Turner

Monday, October 27, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 1101, Morrill Hall

SEMINAR: ECONOMETRICS
Peter Egger, ETH Zurich

Hosted by Ingmar Prucha

Tuesday, October 28, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Avi Goldfarb, University of Toronto

Hosted by Ginger Jin

Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Eric Gould, Hebrew University

Hosted by Sergio Urzua

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Laura Veldcamp, New York University Stern

Hosted by Luminita Stevens

Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jing Cai, University of Michigan

Hosted by Ginger Jin

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Paul Scott, Toulouse School of Economics

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Giorgio Primiceri, Northwestern University

Hosted by Boragan Aruoba

Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Ariel BenYishay, University of New South Wales

Hosted by Raymond Guiteras

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: IO/THEORY
Jeremy Fox, University of Michigan

Hosted by Andrew Sweeting

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Giuseppe Moscarini, Yale University

Hosted by John Shea

Thursday, November 20, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Jessica Pan, National University of Singapore

Hosted by John Ham

Thursday, November 27, 2014 at 12:01 am - 11:59 pm

The University of Maryland will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 28, 2014 at 12:01 am - 11:59 pm

The University of Maryland will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Gabriel Chodorow-Reich, Harvard University

Hosted by Ethan Kaplan

Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Anna Aizer, Brown University

Hosted by Soohyung Lee

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Matt Notowidigdo, Northwestern University

Hosted by John Shea

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103, Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: MACROECONOMICS / INT'L FINANCE
Alp Simsek, MIT

Hosted by John Shea

Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
Rm. 4103,Tydings Hall

SEMINAR: LABOR / PUBLIC FINANCE / DEVELOPMENT
Rohini Pande, Harvard Kennedy School

Hosted by Jessica Goldberg